top of page

Cost of a Dog

The other day I was watching cable TV at my in-laws house (I cut the cord decades ago) and there was a commercial from ASPCA, a dog saving charity. Now, I get pretty nervous about charities that advertise on TV because of the cost spent on advertising versus the money being put to good use; so, I wasn't really paying that much attention to the ad. However, the ad then asks for $.60 cents a day and I think to myself how quickly money adds up from the car loan post.

I do some quick math and .60 cents a day is $18 dollars a month.

The next thought through my brain is how much does a real dog cost? Here, I have some experience. Several years ago I bought a Miniature German Schnauzer. Now we love our dog, but we don't go too much out of our way to pamper him.

After some quick math I soon discover that I spend on average $.83 cents a day on my dog. ASPCA costs .60 cents. My recommendation... Get a Virtual Pet.

PS: I haven't vetted ASPCA and would'nt recommend giving them money without first investigating their business practices. You can use this post for that.

Resources:


RECENT POST
bottom of page